.new files.

5 07 2006

The other day i was messing around with photoshop, and I figured I would make some files for my readers that they may find useful. Two of them are for the cross-processed film look, E6 in C41 chemistry and vice versa. The other file is an actions file where I attempted to record the process of having a split-tone effect.

Downloading
There is a password you need to enter to grab these files. It is “idreaminred” without the quotes.
C41 in E6 Cross Process Curve file
E6 in C41 Cross Process Curve file
Split toning Actions file

Installing
Curve files – Just put these anywhere, just as long as you can find them when you need them. When you open up a new curves dialog in photoshop, there will be a button labeled “load”, just click that, and locate the file.
Action files – Check out the actions tutorial I wrote here. Look towards the bottom and you will see how to install an action file.

Using
Cross process curve files – I suggest loading them in an adjustment layer rather than a regular curves dialog, that way you can adjust the opacity to change the effect to your liking. Layer > New Adjustment Layer > Curves
Action file – just follow the directions when you run the action.

If you download and enjoy the files, please drop me a comment here, that way I know I’m not just wasting my time.



Technorati : , , , , , ,

Actions

Information

2 responses

24 07 2006
Alex Morrice

Cool split-toning action… Thank you. No problems on my set-up (Photoshop 7, Windows XP). Expect to see some photos posted soon, using your action!

23 03 2007
Paul B

Hi. It’s always good to find stuff like this on the internet and you’re not wasting your time! However, I was actually hoping to find some curves that would correct a cross-processed file such that the colours would look natural. I’m one of the school of thought that says applying an effect is no substitute for creativity. I use stock library shots in my design work a lot and find the fact that half the shots I need have been cross-processed very frustrating. Most commercial clients dislike this effect and I have to spend lots of time colour correcting for it!
I thought if I used the right one of your curves it might actually reverse the effect, but it didn’t quite work! Cheers anyway.

Leave a Reply

