.glance.

21 06 2006

I really like doing portraits. It’s really satisfying when you get an image of a person that portrays their emotions and personality in that one fraction of a second. I dont get many subjects, mainly because my “studio” aka room is my shooting area and I don’t like everyone seeing how messy I can be. The image to the left was shot with a Canon 300D, with a 50mm mkII lens at f1.8 in raw. I didn’t like the coldness the converted black and white image portrayed, so i toned it slightly with a faux selenium toning through photoshop using duotones to give it a warmer feeling. I also used the technique called ETTR, where you push the exposure toward the right of the histogram when shooting raw, to obtain as much info as possible in the exposure, without overexposing the highlights, then later correcting the levels in the raw editor. I talked previously about this technique, that post can be found here.


Technorati : , , , , , ,

Actions

Information

One response

24 06 2006
micki

That is a wonderful portrait!!

Leave a Reply

